Help

discussion

Really long dip - what is it?

Started by psyham
Default_user
over 6 years ago

KID 7466500 - http://talk.planethunters.org/objects/APH23103084

I was surprised that this didn't come up in any forum searches, since it's pretty old data. I thought someone might have asked about it by now. So, what is the big dip from d113.5 to 116.2? Is it a glitch, or contamination, or an EB? If it's a transit, it's a pretty ridiculously long one.

I tried out the SkyView thing for the first time, and I think it worked ok... there appears to be a pretty big star sitting right next to the one in question.

skyview

Default_user
over 6 years ago

It's an interesting feature, and in nighthawk_black's EBs and oddities collection.

I am not an expert so don't take this on face value. There are a number of possibilities.

1. This feature is real and maybe an eclipse in a Binary system. Personally I don't think so.

2. It could be caused by sunspot activity, hence the dip in brightness.

3. This is a known glitch area, esp. day 116 and 119. Those glitches don't have this shape however.

4. It could be caused by star #2 as some form of contamination.

There are more possibilities of course but I gave it my best shot here :-)

Default_user
over 6 years ago

One of the curses of working with this data is that one never seems to find time to go back and revisit all sorts of strange things, like this target. Thanks for bumping it Psyham--I will try to find out what is going on. Cappella has listed some good possibilities; one thing that concerns me here is that the depth is very, very shallow with respect to the overall magnitude. Despite the very interesting symmetry and duration, my initial hunch is #2 or #3 in the list above.

Default_user
over 6 years ago