Help

discussion

SIAP... A newbie asks about Amplitude Spikes

Started by TriDitty
Default_user
almost 7 years ago

Hey fellas, I am a newbie planet hunter and after going thru the training lit I could not help but think that some of the spikes that we see in the light amplitude might be a planet just coming out from the other side of a star. this is very easy to see if you go to the "Whats this?" section of the two STEREO sats on the solar stormwatch site and see how planets coming out of the other side of our own sun are very bright right when they pop out from behind the sun.

I did see a few posts mentioning inverse tranistions and I have to think that this idea must have already been discussed. If the measurements can show us an emerging planet's extra reflection as a peak in the star's overall light, then I must wonder if we can identify this spike in between the two dips in data.

Also, could we expect the spikes to be relatively proportional in amplitude to the dips? Can we expect the spikes to be half the amplitude of the dips or perhaps twice the amplitude? Would the ratio of the amplitude of the dips to spikes say anything in particular about the planet's size or composition?

I am sorry if this is all old news to you guys but I just think that knowing whether or not to expect the spikes in between the planet's transitions can help me to find a planet that might not catch my eye if I am only looking for dips.

Default_user
almost 7 years ago

A transit looks like a line of dots that go down. it also needs to repeat

Default_user
almost 7 years ago

Have you taken a look at our site guide - it's a good resource for people new to the project.

Cheers,

~Meg

Default_user
almost 7 years ago

tac1017:

A transit looks like a line of dots that go down. it also needs to repeat